Skip directly to content

Book Review

New Book Review Published

on Thu, 06/29/2017 - 14:37

The Michigan War Studies Review (MiWSR) has just published my latest book review. It is of Lawrence Paterson's Steel and Ice: The U-Boat Battle in the Arctic and Black Sea, 1941-1945. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. If you have any interest in undersea warfare or the war fought between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union then you will like it as well.

New Book Review Published

on Mon, 02/29/2016 - 18:10

The Michigan War Studies Review (MiWSR) has just published my latest book review. It is of David Stahel's The Battle for Moscow, and unfortunately it is a work that I cannot recommend. This is only the second time I have had to publish a negative review with the MiWSR. Readers will quickly see why.

It is patently obvious that Stahel's latest work is more interested in pushing an agenda. It does not measure up to the findings of countless other military historians in regards to why Germany failed to take Moscow late in 1941.

New Book Review Published

on Wed, 12/30/2015 - 18:53

Dr. Boris Sokolov's Marshal K.K. Rokossovsky offers a unique look at not only the life of one of the Red Army's top Second World War era senior officers, but also interesting insight into a Red Army at war.

New Book Review Published

on Tue, 09/22/2015 - 12:44

The Michigan War Studies Review has published my review of Rolf-Dieter Müller's Enemy in the East: Hitler's Secret Plans to Invade the Soviet Union. This book offers an intriguing look at the origins of German planning for an invasion of the Soviet Union, and the place of Poland in those plans. Anyone interested in this aspect of the war should find this book quite enjoyable.

New Book Review Published

on Thu, 09/03/2015 - 16:40

The Michigan War Studies Review has published my review of Peter Caddick-Adam's Snow and Steel: The Battle of the Bulge, 1944–45. This is quite possibly the best book I have read on the subject, and that is saying something (given the sheer number of studies I have read).

If you are interested in how and why Hitler's final great Western Front offensive was an abject failure then this is the book for you. Finally, if The Battle of the Bulge holds a special place of interest for you then please check out my query regarding one of it's remaining unsolved mysteries.

New Book Review Published

on Sun, 06/28/2015 - 15:24

Stephen Barratt's two-volume set Zhitomir-Berdichev (sold separately) should go down as the definitive look from the German side of the hill at the critically important combat operations on Army Group South's left flank during the lead up to the far more famous Battle of the Korsun Pocket.

Another Positive Review of Why Germany Nearly Won

on Fri, 04/10/2015 - 17:08

I am happy to report Why Germany Nearly Won has landed another positive review. This time it comes from Historyofwar.org.

The website's well regarded Second World War historians (website editor Peter Antill has authored three World War II books with Osprey, and his co-editors also have solid credentials) endorsed my work as seen in the following excerpt from their full review:

"Mercatante's main argument is that quality was more important than quantity when attempting to explain the course of the Second World War....Overall I agree with the author's main argument. The Germans were being

Tomb of the Panzerwaffe Book Review Published

on Fri, 10/03/2014 - 15:11

I just finished Tomb of the Panzerwaffe: The Defeat of the Sixth SS Panzer Army in Hungary 1945 and really enjoyed it. You can read the full review here.

 

Pages